Call for nominations for the fifth edition of the Calvó-Armengol International Prize

The Calvó-Armengol International Prize was established in 2008 by the Barcelona Graduate School of Economics, the Government of Andorra, and the Credit Andorrà Foundation, to honor the memory of Prof. Antoni Calvó-Armengol, who passed away in the Fall of 2007 at 37 years of age. It is awarded every two years to an economist, or other social scientist, who is not older than 40 years old, for his or her contributions to the understanding of social structure and its implications for economic interactions. The prize, which includes a cash award of 30,000€, recognizes exceptional achievement in research.

The first four prizewinners were: Prof. Esther Duflo (MIT) in 2009, Prof. Roland Fryer (Harvard University) in 2011, Prof. Raj Chetty (Harvard University) in 2013 and Prof. Matthew Gentzkow (Stanford University) in 2015.

The awarded scientist will be selected in Summer 2017, one year prior to the award ceremony. The ceremony, which includes a lecture for a general audience, will take place in Andorra, the small and beautiful country in the middle of the Pyrenees that was Antoni's homeland. Antoni Calvó-Armengol was a professor at Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and Barcelona GSE. In his memory, the prizewinner will also deliver an academic lecture and be the scientific director of a fully funded workshop for young researchers from around the world that will take place in Barcelona.

Requirements for nomination

  • Nominations should include a one-page statement about the nominee's contributions and his or her CV.
  • The nominee should have been born in 1977 or later.

Nominations will be considered by a selection committee appointed by the Barcelona Graduate School of Economics, consisting of Prof. Salvador Barberà, Prof. Esther Duflo and Prof. Mathew Jackson (Chair).

Nominations should be submitted before June 30, 2017 using the form below.