Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall direction of the school, guiding and drawing up rules for governance. It adopts the budget and appoints an Honorary President and a Chair, who serve as Trustees, and further names the Director and the Academic Committee.

The Board is made up of representatives of the founding academic institutions (UPF, UAB, IAE-CSIC, and CREI), private institutions (AXA Research Fund, Banc Sabadell, "la Caixa" Savings Bank, and the FemCAT Foundation), public institutions (the Ministry of Economy and Knowledge of the Catalan Government, and the Barcelona City Council), and several distinguished academics in the field of Economics.

  • Joaquin Almunia

    Joaquín Almunia

    Honorary President of the Board

  • Paulina Beato

    Paulina Beato

    Chair of the Barcelona GSE


  • photo

    Jaume Casals

    Rector, Universitat Pompeu Fabra

  • Margarita Arboix

    Margarita Arboix

    Rector, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

  • Rosa Menéndez López

    Rosa Menéndez López

    President, Spanish Research Council (CSIC)

  • board member

    Àngels Chacón

    President, Center for Research in International Economics (CREI)

  • photo

    Manuel Arellano

    Professor, CEMFI

  • Salvador Barberà

    Professor Emeritus, UAB and Barcelona GSE

  • photo

    Ramon Marimon

    EUI, UPF and Barcelona GSE - on leave

  • Andreu Mas-Colell

    Andreu Mas-Colell

    Professor Emeritus, UPF and Barcelona GSE

  • board

    Juan Rubio-Ramirez

    Professor, Emory University

  • photo

    Josep Alfonso Caro

    Director of Communications, AXA Seguros España

  • photo

    Josep Oliu

    President, Banc Sabadell

  • portrait

    Antoni Vila

    Chief Executive Officer, "la Caixa" Banking Foundation

  • board member

    Oriol Pinya

    Founding Member, FemCAT Foundation

  • Lluís Juncà Pujol

    General Director of Economic Promotion, Competition and Regulation, Government of Catalonia

  • portrait

    Laia Bonet

    Third Deputy Mayor, Barcelona City Council