Advisors Community

The entire Barcelona GSE community benefits from the expertise and exacting standards of the economists, academics, and industry leaders who advise the School on a regular basis. These advisors include our Scientific Council, our Board of Trustees, our academic and units committees, and our partners and sponsors.

Here are just some of the ways our advisors get directly involved in the Barcelona GSE's academic and research activities:

Scientific Council Meeting

A total of 21 out of 32 current members of the Scientific Council were in Barcelona to celebrate the BGSE's 10th Anniversary. After the public celebrations, the Council members convened at Bellaterra Campus (UAB) for their periodic meeting, held every two or three years, to discuss the BGSE's progress and provide strategic direction. 

About the Scientific Council

Tribute and conversation with 2016 Nobel Laureates

The 2016 recipients of the Nobel Prize in Economics, Oliver Hart (Harvard University) and Bengt Holmström (MIT), are both members of the Barcelona GSE Scientific Council. BGSE Chairman Ramon Marimon moderated this brief tribute and conversation with them:

Watch the video on YouTube

Roundtable with members of the Barcelona GSE Scientific Council

Richard Blundell (University College London), Matthew Jackson (Stanford University), Anne Krueger (The John Hopkins University), Alvin Roth (Stanford University, Nobel Laureate) and Christopher Sims (Princeton University, Nobel Laureate) discussed "The Practical Influence of Economic Research." BGSE Director Teresa Garcia-Milà moderated the discussion.

Watch video of the full roundtable on YouTube

Read a recap in Spanish by Prof. Libertad González (UPF and BGSE)

Read takeaways from current masters students (Part 1) (Part 2)

Board of Trustees Annual Meeting

The Board of Trustees held its annual meeting in November 2016 at the Barcelona GSE's Ciutadella Campus (UPF).

See board members

Barcelona GSE Lectures by Scientific Council members

The most recent Lectures by Council members were:

See all Scientific Council members