Call for Nominations: Calvó-Armengol International Prize

Nominations for the fourth edition of the Calvó-Armengol International Prize must be received by June 30, 2015.

Download the call for nominations [pdf] 

The Calvó-Armengol International Prize was established in 2008 by the Barcelona Graduate School of Economics, the Government of Andorra, and the Crèdit Andorrà Foundation, to honor the memory of Prof. Antoni Calvó-Armengol, who passed away in the Fall of 2007 at 37 years of age.

The Calvó Prize is awarded every two years to an economist, or other social scientist, who is not older than 40 years old, for his or her contributions to the understanding of social structure and its implications for economic interactions. The prize, which includes a cash award of 30,000€, recognizes exceptional achievement in research.

Calvó Prize Recipients to Date

photo photo photo
Esther Duflo (MIT)
Roland Fryer (Harvard University)
Raj Chetty (Harvard University)

Activities Planned for the 4th Edition of the Prize

The awarded scientist will be selected in Summer 2015, one year prior to the award ceremony. The ceremony, which includes a lecture for a general audience, will take place in Andorra, the small and beautiful country in the middle of the Pyrenees that was Toni's homeland.

The prizewinner will also deliver an academic lecture and direct a fully-funded workshop for young researchers from around the world.  Because Antoni Calvó-Armengol was a professor at Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and the Barcelona GSE, these activities will take place in Barcelona.

Nomination Process

Nominations will be conducted online and should include a one-page statement about the nominee's contributions and his or her CV. The nominee should have been born in 1975 or later. Nominations will be considered by a selection committee appointed by the Barcelona GSE, consisting of Prof. Salvador Barberà (UAB and Barcelona GSE), Prof. Matthew Jackson (Stanford University, Prize Chair),  and Prof. Joel Sobel (UC San Diego).

Promoters of the Calvó-Armengol Prize

logo logo logo