Call for nominations: Calvó-Armengol International Prize

The third edition of the Calvó-Armengol International Prize has opened the call for nominations (download the call).

The Calvó-Armengol International Prize was established in 2008 by the Barcelona Graduate School of Economics, the Government of Andorra, and the Crèdit Andorrà Foundation, to honor the memory of Prof. Antoni Calvó-Armengol, who passed away in the Fall of 2007 at 37 years of age. It is awarded every two years to an economist, or other social scientist, who is not older than 40 years old, for his or her contributions to the understanding of social structure and its implications for economic interactions. The prize, which includes a cash award of 30,000, recognizes exceptional achievement in research. The first two prizewinners were Prof. Esther Duflo (MIT) in 2009 and Prof. Roland Fryer (Harvard University) in 2011.

The awarded scientist will be selected in Summer 2013, one year prior to the award ceremony. The ceremony, which includes a lecture for a general audience, will take place in Andorra, the small and beautiful country in the middle of the Pyrenees that was Toni's homeland. Because Toni Calvó-Armengol was a professor at Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and Barcelona GSE, the prizewinner will also deliver an academic lecture in Barcelona. The awarded scientist will be the scientific director of a fully-funded workshop for young researchers from around the world that will take place in Barcelona in 2014.

Nominations should include a one-page statement about the nominee's contributions and his or her CV. The nominee should have been born in 1973 or later. Nominations will be considered by a selection committee appointed by the Barcelona GSE, consisting of prize chair Prof. Matthew Jackson (Stanford University), Prof. Salvador Barberà (UAB and GSE) and Prof. Joel Sobel (UC San Diego).

Nominations should be submitted before June 30, 2013.

Download the Call for Nominations [pdf]

Contact for questions about the Calvó Prize or the nomination process

Previous winners of the Calvó-Armengol Prize

Esther Duflo (MIT), first winner of the Calvó-Armengol International Prize

Esther Duflo (MIT)
2009 Calvó Prize Winner

Roland Fryer (Harvard), second winner of the Calvó-Armengol International Prize

Roland Fryer (Harvard University)
2011 Calvó Prize Winner

Promoters of the Calvó Prize