GSE affiliated professors recognized throughout 2009-10 for excellence in economics research

The 2009-10 academic year has been another fruitful one for Barcelona GSE affiliated professors in terms of award-winning research. Earlier this year, Prof. Jaume Ventura (CREI and Barcelona GSE) received an Advanced Investigator Grant from the European Research Council (ERC), while two other GSE affiliated CREI researchers, Gino Gancia and Nicola Gennaioli collected ERC Starting Grants. In February 2010, GSE Chairman Prof. Andreu Mas-Colell shared the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award with Prof. Hugo Sonnenschein (University of Chicago and President of the Barcelona GSE Scientific Council).

ICREA Researchers

The number of Barcelona GSE affiliated ICREA Research Professors has also increased this year. ICREA, the Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies, is a publicly funded foundation designed to attract and retain talent in Catalonia. The institution is highly selective, operating through competitive international calls and very rigorous external evaluation of candidates.

ICREA employs over 240 researchers in a variety of fields, with 28 researchs in the social sciences. Half of ICREA's social sciences researchers are Barcelona GSE affiliated faculty (see full list at right).

ICREA-Academia 2009

In addition to the researchers on its permanent staff, ICREA recognizes the work of other outstanding academics in Catalan universities with its ICREA-Academia awards. The objective of this initiative, now in its second year, is to contribute to the retention of top talent in the region, thereby maintaining Catalonia’s standing as one of Europe’s leading areas of research activity.

This year the award recognizes 30 researchers, five in the social sciences, three of whom are Barcelona GSE affiliated professors: Jordi Caballé (UAB), Xavier Freixas (UPF), and Juan José Ganuza (UPF). The prize, to be awarded annually, will distribute 250,000€ over the course of five years to support the awardee’s research. An award ceremony will take place this spring.

The three GSE affiliated ICREA-Academia winners join four others who received ICREA-Academia awards last year: Professors Juan Carlos Conesa (UAB), José García Montalvo (UPF), Jordi Massó (UAB), and David Pérez-Castrillo (UAB).

Full list of 2009 ICREA-Academia winners [pdf]

Searchable database of all ICREA-Academia winners


ICREA Research Professors affiliated with Barcelona GSE

Fabio Canova (ICREA-UPF)

Antonio Ciccone (ICREA-UPF)

Jan Eeckhout (ICREA-UPF)

Ada Ferrer (ICREA-IAE)

Nezih Guner (ICREA-UAB)

Robin Hogarth (ICREA-UPF)

Massimo Motta (ICREA-UPF)

Rosemarie Nagel (ICREA-UPF)

Gábor Lugosi (ICREA-UPF)

Marta Reynal-Querol (ICREA-UPF)

Kalyan Talluri (ICREA-UPF)

Joachim Voth (ICREA-UPF)