The Calvó-Armengol International Prize endeavors to become one of the most prestigious prizes recognizing young economists and social scientists from around the world.

The Calvó Prize is awarded every two years to a top researcher in economics or social sciences younger than 40 years old, in recognition for their contributions to the theory and comprehension of the mechanisms of social interaction.

Each Prize recipient serves as scientific director for a fully funded workshop for young researchers and delivers a lecture on the occasion of the award ceremony in Andorra, as well as a "Calvó-Armengol Lecture" in Barcelona. The Prize includes a cash award of €30,000.

About Antoni Calvó-Armengol (1970-2007)

Antoni Calvó-Armengol

The Calvó-Armengol Prize was established to honor the memory of Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor and ICREA-UAB Professor Antoni 'Toni' Calvó-Armengol, beloved member of the Barcelona GSE community and a highly esteemed researcher from Andorra who passed away unexpectedly in 2007 at the age of 37.

Widely regarded as one of the leading theorists of his generation, Toni was well known for his work in social networks. He left behind a large body of literature that has had a lasting impact in his field, including work on social networks and labor markets demonstrating how patterns of employment and wages can be explained when taking into account the sharing of job information through networks.


Promoters of the Calvó Prize

logo logologo

  • Edition2016

    Matthew Gentzkow (2016)


    Matthew Gentzkow (PhD, Harvard University) is Professor of Economics at Stanford University. Prior to joining the faculty at Stanford, he was a professor at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business.

    Professor Gentzkow has won several awards, including a Sloan Fellowship and the John Bates Clark Medal (a distinction awarded by the American Economic Association to the best American economist younger than 40 years). He is a Fellow of the Econometric Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has been a member of several editorial boards and is currently the co-editor of the American Economic Journal: Applied Economics.

Past recipients

  • Raj Chetty

    2014 Calvó Prize

  • Roland Fryer

    2012 Calvó Prize

  • Esther Duflo

    2010 Calvó Prize